Thirteen states, in conjunction with the Multistate Tax Commission (MTC), announced a new sales tax amnesty program for online merchants who sell on Amazon and other sites.

Amazon sellers owing an estimated $2 billion in uncollected sales taxes are being offered the chance to waive those obligations as part of a new multi-state agreement. The states currently participating are Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Nebraska, New Jersey, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont and Wisconsin, with more considering participation.

Sellers have from August 17 to October 17, 2017, to file multi-state voluntary disclosure program paperwork with the MTC. Upon receipt, the MTC will route the necessary paperwork to each participating state for which the seller is seeking amnesty protection. For full details on the terms and conditions of this limited-time program, visit

Please note: This is an ongoing story and we will provide updates as they become available.

For more information on how any of these changes might impact you or your business, please contact your tax advisor or Faith Gorman, Director – State & Local Tax, at [email protected] .

To learn more about our services at Daszkal Bolton, simply fill out our contact form, or call (561) 367-1040.